Duke gives Oprah honorary degree

January 21, 2009 10:33:49 AM PST
Duke University will give talk show host Oprah Winfrey an honorary degree at its May commencement.Six others will also be honored, including economist-educator Susan Athey, Nobel geneticists Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein (a team who will receive one degree), higher education leader James Moeser, Nobel chemist Mario Molina, business executive Indra Nooyi, and pianist Murray Perahia.

"Each of these men and women represent the best and brightest in their respective fields, and it is our honor at Duke to recognize them for their enormous contributions to society," Duke President Richard H. Brodhead said in a statement sent out to the media. "And, for the first time, we are awarding one degree to a collaborative team, which reflects the reality that our graduates will be functioning in a world where collaboration is increasingly required to achieve excellence."

Winfrey is also scheduled to be the speaker at the May 10 event in Wade Stadium. It is open to the public.