Many NC counties under burn ban

June 23, 2011 3:47:01 AM PDT
Dozens of counties in North Carolina are under a burn ban Thursday.Much of the eastern part of the state, including areas south of US 64 and east of I-95, are part of the open burning ban issued by the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

The ban means residents cannot burn anything - regardless if a permit was issued - in 27 counties including Cumberland, Edgecombe, Johnston, Nash, Robeson, Sampson, Wayne and Wilson counties.

For complete list of counties, click here

State authorities say the ban is necessary because of drought conditions and an increase in wildfire activity in the coastal part of the state.

Firefighters and others are battling wildfires in Johnston, Dare, Bladen and Pender counties.

Much of the rest of the state is dry, but periodic rainfall has helped reduce fire activity in those areas.

Meanwhile, a drought warning has been issued in the Triangle.

Send pictures | Classifieds | Report A Typo |  Send Tip |  Get Alerts
Most Popular  |  Follow abc11 on Twitter  |  abc11 on Facebook