Apple CEO among 8 joining Duke University Board of Trustees

WTVD logo
Tuesday, July 7, 2015

DURHAM (WTVD) -- Apple's CEO, NBA's commissioner, and The Coca-Cola Foundation's chairwoman are now a part of Duke University's governing body.

Eight new members joined the Duke University Board of Trustees on July 1, the school announced on Tuesday.

The new trustees include Apple CEO Tim Cook, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver, The Coca-Cola Foundation Chairwoman Lisa Borders, PRM Advisors founder Patricia Morton, and ValueAct Capital CEO Jeff Ubben. They will each serve six-year terms and earned various degrees from the university.

Three observing members also joined the board -- Jack Boyd, Trinity '85; recent Duke graduate Anna Knight and Ben Shellhorn, a JD/MBA candidate at Duke.

As the university's governing body, the Board of Trustees is responsible for the school's educational mission and fiscal policies. There are 37 members on the board.

Report a Typo