E.E. Smith administrator named Principal of the Year

FAYETTEVILLE (WTVD) -- Cumberland County Schools named Melody Chalmers its 2016 Principal of the Year.

Chalmers, the principal of E.E.Smith High School, was honored during the POY brunch at the Embassy Suites in Fayetteville Wednesday afternoon.

She was among seven district nominees who were selected based on their leadership and social skills.

Don "Big Weather" Schwenneker served as the emcee for the event, themed "Mirrors into Windows."

CCS Superintendent Frank Till explained the significance of the theme, telling the audience that principals impact the image children see when they look in the mirror and the possibilities they see when they look out of a window.

"You see children and you give them value," Till told the nominees.

Among the many prizes Chalmers received from community sponsors was $5,000 for school use and $1,000 for personal use. Both were gifted by LaFayette Ford.

Report a Typo
Copyright © 2019 WTVD-TV. All Rights Reserved.