Ex-Millbrook star named Big South Freshman of the Year

CHARLOTTE (WTVD) -- Campbell University guard Chris Clemons was voted as Big South Freshman of the Year, the conference announced Tuesday afternoon.

Clemons, who played for Raleigh's Millbrook High School, led all conference freshmen in scoring with 18.8 points per game, and also ranked sixth nationally among all freshmen.

RELATED: UNC's Paige named ACC basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

That average was good enough for fourth overall in the league.

Clemons set a school-freshman record with 544 points this season (fifth-most among freshmen in Big South history), and posted eight games with at least 25 points -- second-most in the Big South this year.

He leads the conference with 3.10 3-pointers per game, the only player above 3.0, and is second in free throw percentage at 84.1 percent.

Clemons was also a six-time Big South Freshman of the Week. He scored a career-high 31 points vs. The Citadel, had 30 in a win at Winthrop and 26 in Campbell's victory at Charlotte.

High Point University redshirt-senior forward John Brown was voted Big South Player of the Year and Liberty head coach Ritchie McKay was named Coach of the Year.

Coastal Carolina senior forward Tristian Curtis was voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the league's Sports Information Directors.

The winners are chosen by the league's head coaches and media panel.


First-Team All-Conference
John Brown, F, R-Sr., High Point
Keon Johnson, G, Jr., Winthrop

DeSean Murray, F, Soph., Presbyterian College
Jimmy Gavin, G, Gr., Winthrop
Lotanna Nwogbo, F/C, R-Sr., Longwood

Second-Team All-Conference
Xavier Cooks, F, Soph., Winthrop
Rashun Davis, G, Sr., Radford
Adam Weary, G, Sr., High Point
Tyrell Nelson, F, Jr., Gardner-Webb
Chris Clemons, G, Fr., Campbell

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Shivaughn Wiggins, G, R-Jr., Coastal Carolina
John Dawson, G, R-Soph., Liberty
Cameron Jones, G, Sr., Radford
Elijah Wilson, G, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Dylan Smith, G, Fr., UNC Asheville

All-Freshman Team
Chris Clemons, G, Fr., Campbell
Dylan Smith, G, Fr., UNC Asheville
Dwayne Sutton, G, Fr., UNC Asheville
Armel Potter, G, Fr., Charleston Southern
Ed Polite Jr., F, Fr., Radford

All-Academic Team
Jacob Talbert, G, Jr., Campbell
Patrick Wallace, G, Jr., Charleston Southern
Tristian Curtis, F, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Tyrell Nelson, F, Jr., Gardner-Webb
Austin White, G, Soph., High Point
Ryan Kemrite, G, R-Soph., Liberty
Charlie Inclan, G, Jr., Presbyterian College
Justin Cousin, G, R-Soph., Radford
Kevin Vannatta, G, Soph., UNC Asheville

Report a Typo
Copyright © 2022 WTVD-TV. All Rights Reserved.