ACC places pair on Davey O'Brien watch list

ByJohn Silver via ESPN logo
Thursday, July 14, 2016

In addition to conference media days, watch list season is yet another indication that college football is right around the corner. On Thursday, the watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award, which honors the nation's top quarterback, was released.

Last year's Davey O'Brien Award winner was Clemson's Deshaun Watson and he looks to become the first two-time winner since Oklahoma's Jason White in 2003 and 2004. Watson passed for 4,104 yards, 35 touchdowns with 13 interceptions last year for the ACC champions. Watson also rushed for 1,105 yards and 12 touchdowns last year.

Watson is joined on the awards list by Miami's Brad Kaayawhothrew for 3,238 yards and 16 touchdowns last year.

Sixteen semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award will be named on Nov. 10. From that list, three finalists will be selected on Nov. 22. The winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN.