LIST: North Carolina university, college COVID-19 plans for the 2020-2021 school year

WTVD logo
Tuesday, July 28, 2020

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to significantly impact North Carolina and the nation, universities in our area are distributing interim plans for how they will approach the 2020-2021 school year.

CDC guidance

The risk of COVID-19 spread increases in Institutions of Higher Education non-residential and residential settings as follows:

IHE General Settings

Lowest Risk: Faculty and students engage in virtual-only learning options, activities, and events.

More Risk: Small in-person classes, activities, and events. Individuals remain spaced at least 6 feet apart and do not share objects (e.g., hybrid virtual and in-person class structures or staggered/rotated scheduling to accommodate smaller class sizes).

Highest Risk: Full-sized in-person classes, activities, and events. Students are not spaced apart, share classroom materials or supplies, and mix between classes and activities.

IHE On-Campus Housing Settings

Lowest Risk: Residence halls are closed, where feasible.

More Risk: Residence halls are open at lower capacity and shared spaces are closed (e.g., kitchens, common areas).

Highest Risk: Residence halls are open at full capacity including shared spaces (e.g., kitchens, common areas).

Here are some of the plans:

Public and private universities

UNC-Chapel Hill

NC State

Duke University

North Carolina Central University

Appalachian State University

Campbell University

Davidson College

East Carolina University

Elizabeth City State University

Elon University

Fayetteville State University

Gardner-Webb University

High Point University

Meredith College

Methodist University

St. Augustine's University

Shaw University






UNC School of the Arts

Wake Forest University

Western Carolina University

William Peace University

Wingate University

Winston-Salem State University

Community colleges

Alamance Community College

Central Carolina Community College

Durham Technical Community College

Edgecombe Community College

Fayetteville Technical Community College

Johnston Community College

Nash Community College

Piedmont Community College

Sampson Community College

Vance-Granville Community College

Wake Technical Community College

Wayne Community College