Full Frame festival wraps up

DURHAM Each year at the end of the festival a brunch is held that brings everyone together. Everyone at the brunch on Sunday was a maker, or supporter, of independent documentary film.

The brunch is also where the four day full frame festival announces its award winners.

"We're really known as a filmmaker's festival, Full Frame Festival Director, Deirdre Haj said. "So the people really get close to the filmmakers here."

For filmmakers like Michael tucker, it's his third Full Frame festival. This year he screened "How to Fold a Flag."

"A great documentary community because of duke, and their program," Tucker said. "Great audience, it's just a great place, especially if it's the first place you've screened a film, to run it by an audience, just a wonderful audience here."

Another unofficial award not given at the brunch is especially important to the host city. The award is centered on what the directors will say about Durham, once they leave here and return to the places where they made their films.

"The reputation here is really astonishing," Haj said. "I wish everybody in Durham knew that outside of Durham, and about 50% of our attendees are from outside of Durham, the festival and Durham have an enormous reputation."

She went on to say; "We've had people so happy with the programming, so happy to be in downtown Durham. Enjoying the weather and enjoying the movies."

Haj says the documentary festival will return to Durham next year.

The 2010 awards were presented to the following films:

Anne Dellinger Grand Jury Award: "Enemies of the People" directed by Rob Lemkin, Thet Sambath

Special Jury Prize: "The Oath" directed by Laura Poitras

Special Jury Prize: "Restrepo" directed by Tim Hetherington, Sebastian Junger Sponsored by Alpha Cine Labs, Seattle and cash award provided by Anne and Walter Dellinger and Charles Weinraub and Emily Kass.

Full Frame Jury Award for Best Short: "The Poot" directed by Elham Asadi Provided by Drs. Andrew and Barbra Rothschild.

Full Frame Audience Award: "Waste Land" directed by Lucy Walker Sponsored by Merge Records. The Audience Award is determined by counting audience ballots filled out during the four day Festival.

Center for Documentary Studies Filmmaker Award: "My Perestroika" directed by Robin Hessman Sponsored by the Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University. This award honors a documentary artist whose work is a potential catalyst for education and change.

The Charles E. Guggenheim Emerging Artist Award: "Enemies of the People" directed by Rob Lemkin, Thet Sambath Honorable Mention: "Restrepo" directed by Tim Hetherington, Sebastian Junger Provided by the Charles E. Guggenheim family. This prize honors a first-time documentary feature director.

Full Frame Inspiration Award: "Surviving Hitler: A Love Story" directed by John-Keith Wasson Honorable Mention:"Summer Pasture" directed by Lynn True, Nelson Walker Sponsored by the Hartley Film Foundation. This award is presented to the film that best exemplifies the value and relevance of world religions and spirituality.

The Kathleen Bryan Edwards Award for Human Rights:"12th & Delaware" directed by Heidi Ewing, Rachel Grady Honorable Mention: "Dirty Business: 'Clean Coal' and the Battle for Our Energy Future" directed by Peter Bull Sponsored by the Julian Price Family Foundation. Award is presented to a film that addresses a significant human rights issue in the United States.

Full Frame President's Award: "Book of Miri" directed by Katrine Philp Sponsored by Duke University. Aimed at recognizing up-and-coming filmmakers, this prize is awarded to the best student film.

Classifieds | Report A Typo |  Send Tip |  Get Alerts | Most Popular
Follow @abc11 on Twitter  |  Become a fan on Facebook

Copyright © 2024 WTVD-TV. All Rights Reserved.